Climbed a Mountain and I Turned Around: My Saana Saga

The Finch and Pea

saanapan2 View of Malla and Kilpisjarvi Lake from Saana

Last Friday I decided to walk up Saana Fell, the local mountain. Local artist Leena* had told me the view was amazing from the top, and that there were stairs up the side. It’s only 4 kilometers, she said. How hard could that be? I walk all the time!

So I set out, in my favorite yoga pants and my snow boots from Marshalls. I didn’t take any food or water because I had just had breakfast and I thought it would only take about an hour and half to get to the top. Yes, I am kind of stupid.

1. The walk

I started out from the Kilpsjarvi camping center, walking along a gently upward-sloping path with wooden walkways over the slippery bits. I can do this, I thought. 4 km, piece of cake. After all, I had walked to…

View original post 885 more words

Leave a Reply

