That’s how we start

Wake up at 6:30AM when Soraya starts wiggling around and singing in her crib. I roll over, kiss mommy and she kisses me back. “Good morning princess”. I get up, look at the garden and the sky through the bedroom window, then put on a shirt and go in the living room. I turn on the light, gauge up the heater and put BBC world Service on. By this point Soraya knows I’m awake and she’s moving about and yelling “Daddy, Daddy!”. I walk down the hallway to her room, open the door and she’s always there standing in her crib, wearing a smile and clutching her Elmo and Juju doll. I scream some funny, lovey phrases in Farsi, give her a big kiss, and pick her up. We walk to her bedroom window, pull the curtains away and look at the garden and the sky. If its an early morning moon, she finds it and screams in joy “moon, moon!”. We move over to the changing table and I lay her down to change her pee soaked diaper! She starts her babbling, telling stories and singing. Mom is awake by this time and has gone to the kitchen to put the tea kettle on the fire. She walks through the kitchen, the living room, down the hallway and peaks her head into Sorayas room “Hi guuuuuyyyss!”. We reply “Hi mommy!!!”. She comes in and gives Soraya a kiss, then me. She goes to take a shower, and Soraya and I go to the living room. I go to the kitchen to warm her morning milk while she says hi, and gives hugs and kisses to all her stuffed friends. I bring her milk. She climbs on the couch clutching one or two of her friends. She places them next to her and I hand her the milk to drink. She smiles at me, kisses her friends and starts drinking her milk. Mommy finishes her shower, gets dressed and joins us in the living room. I help mommy make her lunch, she eats her breakfast and gets ready to leave for work. Before she leaves she comes over and gives Soraya a kiss, then me and tells us to have a good day. I tell her we love her, have a safe drive to work and “we’ll see you when you get home”. On her way out I ask her if we need anything from the market and “What should we have for dinner?”. On this particular day she wanted Seafood. So I will buy a whole fish to grill. And that’s how our days begin.

Leave a Reply

